Database Help: Using Databases

The video above will show you how to log in to Library databases.

Tips for fixing access issues are on this page as well.

You can find video tutorials and tip sheets for specific databases in the tabbed menus.

If you need more help, please contact us in person, by chat using the Ask for Help box, or by text ((864) 438-3425), phone (864-250-8319), or email (gtclibrary@gvltec.edu).

Chat video conferencing is available Monday-Thursday 7:30am-6:00pm & Friday 8:00am-1:00pm.

GTC4Me login issues:

• Please contact GTC Technical Support.

Database access issues:

• If you have trouble accessing a resource from GTC Library pages, here are a few things to try:
  • Use another browser. 
  • Use another database, then come back to the one that gave you trouble.
  • Log in from OpenAthens:

Go to https://login.openathens.net/auth

Type Greenville Tech into the "Find Your Institution" box, click the Greenville Tech link, and log in to GTC4Me.

Ignore the OpenAthens landing page that appears. Go to the database or ebook link you need.

Note: If you close your browser or switch browsers, you will need to log in again.

• If you have trouble accessing a resource from another website, GTC Libraries might not own or subscribe to that resource.  Not every resource with an OpenAthens login option is available to GTC users.  Please contact the Library to see if there are borrowing options.
• If it looks like a database is down, please let the Library know.

EBook access issues:

• If you have trouble opening an eBook, it is possible that it is locked while someone else is reading it.  Some of our EBSCO and Ebook Central eBooks are limited to one reader at a time.  Please try again later in the day.

Please contact the Library if you need more assistance.