Wikimedia Commons
free to use media files and easy opportunity to contribute to OER
PBS Learning Media
K-12 multimedia resources searchable by a variety of subjects and resource types produced by the Public Broadcasting System
Open Culture
browse thousands of open movies and podcasts
EDUCAUSE: Legal Sources of Online Content
alternatives to unauthorized downloading of movies, tv shows, and music from a nonprofit association
ARTSTOR
ITHAKA collaborative collections of 1.3 million multimedia files from library special collections, faculty research, institutional history materials, and partner museums
Library of Congress Digital Collections
500+ digital scans and media files from U.S. de facto National Library
Digital Public Library of America
digital collections produced by partnering libraries across the country
Smithsonian Learning Lab
more than a million images, recordings, and texts from collections
Metropolitan Museum
open photos of collection art and sculptures
Europeana
media items from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives, and museums
Internet Archive
non-profit organization with access to "historical collections that exist in digital format" including text, audiovisual, and software items
Pond5: Free
free stock photos, videos, and music
National Art Gallery
images of works of art in the collection deemed as public domain
Science Image
free image library specializing in science and nature by CSIRO in Australia
Servier Medical Art
3000+ free medical images including anatomy, cellular biology, and medical equipment and procedures
Public Health Image Database
public domain images from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
NASA
images as well as audio, video, and other media produced by NASA may be used for educational or informational purposes
Messier Catalog
mostly open astronomical pictures of Messier deep space objects such as nebulae, clusters, and galaxies
Pixabay
public-domain picture repository with no attribution necessary
Flickr Commons
"hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives"
Openclipart
more than 83,000 images from the formerly known Open Clip Art Library
Burst
free stock photos licensed for reuse under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license
Vecteezy
images with Creative Commons licenses downloadable as different sizes
Unsplash
offers 10 public-domain and high-resolution images every 10 days
PDPoster
collections of public domain posters
Googe Image Search by Usage Rights
select "Tools" and then "Usage rights" to filter results based on machine-readable Creative Commons licenses
(click to enlarge)
TED
free full-length videos of "riveting talks by remarkable people free to the world"
Open Video Project
thousands of open videos hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of California Television
educational videos on many subjects produced by the University of California system
Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
free online access to national and state Public Broadcasting Service shows and films including NewsHour, Frontline, and the American Experience
folkstreams.net
a national preserve of documentary films about American roots culture
Vimeo Creative Commons
browse videos licensed for reuse with various permission types
YouTube Search by Usage Rights
go to filter tool and select "Creative Commons"
(click to enlarge)
National Public Radio (NPR)
global news and cultural stories, podcasts, and music from an independent non-profit media organization and state affiliate stations
Free Music Archive
"free downloads under Creative Commons and other licenses"
ccMixter
community site with Creative Commons remixes and samples
Jamendo
more than 400,000 audio tracks with Creative Commons licensing
SoundCloud
social platform to create, share, and find sound files with options for Creative Commons and royalty free licensing
 |
 |
 |
 |