You Can Also:
Works Cited List Citation:
"Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by First Name Last Name, Edition ed. if available, vol. no., if available, Publisher, Year of Publication, page range. Database Name, DOI link or permalink.
Example: "Macao." World Encyclopedia, Phillip's, 2004. Oxford Reference, https://doi.org/10.1093/acref/9780199546091.001.0001.
In-Text Citation:
("Title of Encyclopedia Entry").
Example: ("Macao").
Works Cited List Citation:
"Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by First Name Last Name, Sponsoring Organization if given, Year of Publication, URL. Accessed Day Month Year accessed (optional, add if there is no upload/publication date).
Example: "Hide Hyodo Shimizu.” The Canadian Encyclopedia, Historica Canada, 15 Mar. 2019, www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/hide-hyodo-shimizu.
In-Text Citation:
("Title of Encyclopedia Entry").
Example: ("Hide Hyodo Shimizu.”).
Works Cited List:
"Title of Entry." Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary”, edited by Editor's First Name Last Name, Edition, vol. no., Publisher Name, Year of Publication, page range.
Example: "Guyana". Oxford Encyclopedia of World History, compiled by Market House Books, Oxford UP, 1998, p. 283.
In-Text Citation:
("Title of Entry" page no.).
Example: ("Guyana 283").
*Note: This encyclopedia has a compiler listed instead of an editor, the compiler is a company instead of an individual. As no edition or volume were given this information was omitted. “UP” is used as an abbreviation for University Press. If only one page was referenced, use ‘p.’ instead of ‘pp.’ before the page number.
* Note: If a dictionary or encyclopedia entry has no author, the in-text citation should include the first few words of the title of the entry.
Works Cited List:
"Title of Encyclopedia Entry." website, publisher name, Accessed date, URL.
Example: "The Lark Ascending." Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 18 May 2021, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.
In-Text Citation:
("Title of Encyclopedia Entry").
Example: ("The Lark").
*Note: If the source has a long title, you may shorten it in your in-text citation by using the first word/phrase from the title.
Access Date
For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation with the word "Accessed" before the date. The date is given as Day Month Year and the month is abbreviated (e.g. Oct. instead of October)
Authors/Editors
An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.
If you are citing a chapter from a book that has an editor, the author of the chapter is listed first, and is the name listed in the in-text citation.
Dates
The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.
Page Numbers
If there is more than one page put "pp." before the page numbers. If there is only one page put "p." before the page number.
If no page numbers are provided leave them out of the citation.
Place of Publication
List the city the book was publsihed. If more than one city is listed, use the first.
Titles
Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.
If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).
In-Text Citation - No Author
If a dictionary or encyclopedia entry has no author, the in-text citation should include the first word or words in the title of the entry. The title of the entry should be in quotation marks, with each word starting with a capital letter.
Include the page number where the quote or paraphrased section appears if page numbers are provided.
Examples:
("Cat Care")
("Tattooing" 54)
 |
 |
 |
 |