Skip to main content

Fantasy Literature: Periodicals and Databases

This guide is meant as brief pointer to the best in Fantasy Literature for scholarly research purposes.

 The Internet Speculative Fiction Database (ISFDB)

"The ISFDB is a community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, and forthcoming books." You can search the database from the field on the left hand side of the homepage, or you can do an advanced search. I highly recommend simply a basic search in order to discover the fantasy literature available on this extremely useful site in the quickest and most direct way possible.

Citation: Internet Speculative Fiction Database. Retrieved from http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/index.c(2011). Rgi.

Available At: ISFDB.com.

Search Strategy: In the Basic Search field, type "fantasy" and click "Tag" on the scroll-down list below. Click "Ok" and a list of subject tags will appear. Click on "fantasy" at the top of the list.

LITERATURE

Journals

Mythlore is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal published by The Mythopoeic Society. "The Mythopoeic Society is a non-profit organization devoted to the study of mythopoeic literature, particularly the works of the members of the informal Oxford literary circle known as 'The Inklings.'" This journal is highly interesting and informational, a very rich source.

Image:https://www.mythsoc.org/mythlore/

  

Extrapolation is a leading, peer-reviewed, international journal which began in 1959, and was the first journal to accept academic work on science fiction and fantasy literature. It is published at the University of Texas at Brownsville in Brownsville, TX.

Image:  https://extrapolation.utb.edu/

Accessibility at GTC