It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VET 101 - Animal Breeds and Husbandry: Library Resources
Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides the veterinary technician with a solid foundation in behavioral medicine. Designed as a daily resource for interacting with and educating pet owners, the book familiarizes readers with the behavioral, mental, and emotional needs of dogs and cats. Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses offers a complete guide to the technician's role in behavioral preventive services and how to assist the veterinarian with behavioral intervention. Covering the roles of animal behavior professionals, normal development of dogs and cats, and the human-animal bond, the book includes correlations from human mental health care throughout. The book encompasses learning theory, preventive behavioral services, standardized behavior modification terms and techniques, and veterinary behavior pharmacology Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential resource for veterinary technicians to realize their full potential and become a pivotal component of the behavioral health care team for canine and feline patients.
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician, Second Edition is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to present to a veterinary practice, the book offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. Covering information ranging from anatomy, restraint, and common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician provides technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients. This book's companion Web site includes review questions and figures for download in PowerPoint at www.wiley.com/go/ballard.
**Available as an ebook**
Peterson's Master the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) guide offers crucial test-prep strategies and skill-building review for this essential exam. In addition, readers will find the information they need to know about the responsibilities of a veterinary technician job, the steps to become a veterinary technician, and invaluable expert preparation and practice on the seven test topics of the VTNE listed below. Part I provides an overview of a veterinary technician's job and details on the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE). Part II is a preview of the exam and a diagnostic test to determine strengths and weaknesses on questions that are just like the ones that appear on the VTNE. The guide includes test answers with complete explanations. Part III is a comprehensive overview of subjects on the VTNE with chapters on: pharmacy and pharmacology, surgical preparation and assisting, laboratory procedures, animal care and nursing, anesthesia and analgesia, dentistry, and diagnostic imaging. Part IV offers 2 full-length written practice tests with questions similar to those on the actual exam. Peterson's Master the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) appendixes offer a valuable glossary of medical terms and abbreviations used on the test and a list of resources recommended by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).
Reader-friendly and engaging, SMALL ANIMAL CARE AND MANAGEMENT, Fourth Edition, offers a comprehensive guide to the care and husbandry of small animals. Through a logical flow of information, it introduces you to the basics of the small animal industry, including the history, safety concerns, and care and welfare of these animals before diving into the specifics of each, with chapters covering dogs, cats, reptiles, birds, fish, and exotic species. Full-color photos and illustrations visually depict various breeds and their characteristics, anatomy, handling techniques, housing and other care concerns to facilitate learning, while activities and additional resources offer the opportunity for application and further study.
Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant offers a comprehensive guide to the NAVTA-approved curriculum for veterinary assisting programs. Written by leaders in the profession and co-published with NAVTA, the book covers the complete list of NAVTA Veterinary Assistant Essential Skills. Specifically tailored for veterinary assistants and veterinary assistant students, the book uses an engaging writing style to provide a concise, user-friendly approach to the material. With chapters on medical terminology, clinical skills, office procedures, client communication, and more, the book equips veterinary assistants with all the information they need to succeed. A companion website offers interactive multiple-choice questions, the figures from the book in PowerPoint, teaching activities, breed study guides, and a sample cover letter. Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant is a must-have resource for all veterinary assistant students and those studying for the Approved Veterinary Assistant certification exam, and serves as a useful refresher for veterinary assistants in practice.
A moving memoir of a life spent in the company of animals--a veterinarian sheds light on the universal experience of loving, healing, and losing our beloved pets, and the many ways they change our lives. Suzy Fincham-Gray dreamed of becoming a vet since she was a young girl. In 2000 she graduated, with honors, from the Royal Veterinary College in London, and her journey in veterinary medicine has taken her from the English-Welsh border to an inner-city Philadelphia ER to the West Coast of America, with thousands of stories collected along the way. In this unforgettable and profound literary debut we are taken into the heart of the relationship we share with the animals in our lives, and the decisions we must make when a loved one becomes sick. We meet Grayling, an Irish Wolfhound in need of intensive care. With Ned, a rescue dog from Mexico, we experience the joy of saving an animal from disease, and the story of Sweetie explores the lengths doctors will go to save a patient. Fincham-Gray is a rare breed: a clinician with an elegant literary style. She affords a view few can obtain and writes with the same tenderness she brings to her patients, whose needs she must meet with her mind, her hands, and her heart. Rich in warmth and humor, My Patients and Other Animals is a memorable story of compassion, healing, and hope.
Is there an animal doctor in the house? Most likely, the answer is no. And when an accident or other emergency threatens your pet, every minute counts. Don't be unprepared! Open The First-Aid Companion for Dogs and Cats by Amy D. Shojai and learn- * Basic first-aid techniques, such as cleaning a wound, making a splint, and performing CPR-- step-by-step! * Which over-the-counter human medications can help-- or harm-- your dog or cat * What to keep in your pet's medicine chest (many essential items are probably in your house already!) * How to quickly pinpoint what's wrong with your pet, using the First-Aid Symptom Finder Plus, you'll discover a comprehensive A-to-Z guide to more than 150 common-- and not-so-common-- injuries and conditions, including- * Abscesses (page 60) * Bites from Animals (page 90) * Car Accidents (page 117) * Choking (page 131) * Gunshot Wounds (page 224) * Heatstroke (page 237) * Hot Spots (page 245) * Jellyfish Stings (page 269) * Poisoning (page 311) * Snakebites (page 350) Each at-a-glance entry tells you when to call the vet, which supplies or medications you'll need, what immediate action you should take, and what you should do as follow-up care. By knowing what to do in an emergency and then acting quickly and confidently to take the proper steps, you could save your pet's life. The next time medical help is not quickly available, reach for The First-Aid Companion for Dogs and Cats. It's a pet owner's second best friend.
With more than 5,000 practice questions in the book and online, Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Technicians, 4th Edition - Revised Reprint prepares you for success on the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE). Subject areas covered include: pharmacology, surgical preparation and assisting, dentistry, laboratory procedures, animal nursing, diagnostic imaging, and anesthesiology. A new Evolve website lets you answer questions in practice mode, or as a VTNE-style, 150-question practice exam with instant feedback. Written by veterinary technology educator Thomas Colville, this engaging review gives you the practice and the confidence you need to master the VTNE. More than 5,000 review questions in the book prepare you to pass the VTNE by testing factual knowledge, reasoning skills, and clinical judgment in the seven primary subject areas of veterinary technology. Multiple-choice question format mirrors the format used in the VTNE. Answers include rationales for correct and incorrect answers, and are provided at the back of the book. NEW! An Evolve companion website contains 5,000 questions and a practice exam that simulates the computer-based VTNE testing environment, and provides instant feedback and a test score.
Small Animal Internal Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is the first comprehensive resource on internal medicine written for the veterinary technician. Organized by body system, each chapter discusses pertinent diseases, from clinical signs, diagnostic testing, and prevalence to treatment options and nursing considerations. Published in association with the Academy of Internal Medicine for Veterinary Technicians, this book offers both a thorough grounding in the foundations of internal medicine for students and new veterinary technicians and detailed, advanced information suitable for experienced veterinary technicians. Coverage includes an overview of neurological disorders and discussion of the surgical, emergency, and nursing considerations for each condition. This complete reference, which includes a companion website with quizzes, images, and video clips, is essential reading for veterinary technician students, practicing technicians, and those studying for the AIMVT specialty exam.
Veterinary Technician's Large Animal Daily Reference Guide is an indispensable resource in daily clinical practice. Covering all aspects of a veterinary technician's responsibilities in the care of large animals, the book provides fast access to practical information, aiding newly trained and skilled large animal technicians alike in performing their daily tasks. Designed as a quick yet comprehensive reference, the tables and charts throughout offer reliable, easy-to-follow information on horses, cattle, small ruminants, and pigs. With chapter topics ranging from anatomy and nutrition to emergency and critical care, the book's coverage includes both the basics of veterinary care and more specialized nursing procedures. Veterinary Technician's Large Animal Daily Reference Guide is an invaluable tool for any veterinary technician working with large animals, as well as veterinary technology students seeking more information on these species.
professional publication for veterinarians. Reports relevant news, trends, and developments affecting veterinary medicine, and offers practical and authoritative medical information for practitioners. Coverage includes practice management and marketing, interviews, editorials, new product reviews, and regulatory and legislative updates. Professional interest.