GTC Libraries uses the Library of Congress system to organize their physical book collection. Try looking in the following call number area when browsing the self for books on Mechatronics
TJ 163 - 1475
Basic Robotics by Keith DinwiddieWith no previous experience required, BASIC ROBOTICS walks readers step by step through the fundamentals of the industrial robot system. It begins with an exploration of the fascinating technological history that led to the modern robot, starting with events from Before the Common Era and ending with a glimpse of what the robots of tomorrow might become. From there the book explores safety, various parts of the robot, tooling, power transmission systems, the basics of programming, troubleshooting, maintenance, and much more. Engaging photos highlight various robotic systems and their parts, while stories of real-world events bring text concepts to life. This innovative First Edition incorporates many of the initiatives of STEM and is the culmination of lessons learned from the author's years of teaching robotics in various formats--from the traditional classroom to the industrial production floor with systems ranging from the LEGO Mindstorms NXT to the FANUC robot.
Call Number: Brashier TJ211 .D569 2015
Industrial Electricity and Motor Controls by Mark Miller; Rex MillerComprehensive coverage of the entire electrical field and its equipment, including troubleshooting and repair. Features a new chapter on robotics, a new 16-page color insert, and information on the latest codes, regulations, and devices. +650 photos and diagrams, study questions, review problems, and detailed answers. Covers: Tools & equipment, Safety, Electrical wiring diagram symbols, Ladder diagrams, Control circuits and diagrams, Switches, Magnetism and solenoids, Relays, Electric motors, Timers and sensors Solenoids and valves Motor starting methods Solid-state reduced-voltage starters Speed control and monitoring Motor control and protection Three-phase controllers Drives Transformers Power generation Power distribution systems Programmable controllers Robotics Careers in electricity
Call Number: Barton TK2000 .M54 2014
Introduction to Mechatronic Design by J. Edward Carryer; Thomas W. Kenny; Matthew OhlineIntroduction to Mechatronic Design is ideal for upper level and graduate Mechatronics courses in Electrical, Computing, or Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering. ¿ Unlike other texts on mechatronics that focus on derivations and calculations, Introduction to Mechatronics, 1e, takes a narrative approach, emphasizing the importance of building intuition and understanding before diving into the math. The authors believe that integration is the core of mechatronics--and students must have a command of each of the domains to create the balance necessary for successful mechatronic design--and devote sections of the book to each area, including mechanical, electrical, and software disciplines, as well as a section on system design and engineering. A robust package of teaching and learning resources accompanies the book.
Call Number: TJ 163.12 C37 2011
Mechatronic System Control, Logic, and Data Acquisition by Robert H. BishopCoverage on all aspects of mechatronics including: signals and systems control, computers, logic systems, software, and data acquisition. Covers the impact of the computer, microcomputer, embedded computers, and associated information technologies and software advances. Final sections cover computer software and data acquisition. Covers modern aspects of control design using optimization techniques from H2 theory Discusses the roles of adaptive and nonlinear control and neural networks and fuzzy systems Includes discussions of design optimization for mechatronic systems and real-time monitoring and control Focuses on computer hardware and associated issues of logic, communication, networking, architecture, fault analysis, embedded computers, and programmable logic controllers.
Mechatronic Systems, Sensors, and Actuators by Robert H. BishopMechatronics Systems, Sensors, and Actuators: Fundamentals and Modeling presents an overview of mechatronics, providing a foundation for those new to the field. The book introduces basic definitions and the key elements and includes detailed descriptions of the mathematical models of the mechanical, electrical, and fluid subsystems that comprise mechatronic systems. Mathematical models associated with commonly used sensor and actuator technologies are included. Introduces the key elements of mechatronics. Presents the underlying mechanical and electronic mathematical models comprising many mechatronic systems. Provides a detailed discussion of the process of physical system modeling. Covers time, frequency, and sensor and actuator characteristics.
Robot Ethics 2. 0 by Patrick Lin (Editor); Keith Abney; Ryan Jenkins (Editor)The robot population is rising on Earth and other planets. (Mars is inhabited entirely by robots.) As robots slip into more domains of human life - from the operating room to the bedroom - they take on our morally important tasks and decisions, as well as create new risks from psychological tophysical. This makes it all the more urgent to study their ethical, legal, and policy impacts. To help the robotics industry and broader society, we need to not only press ahead on a wide range of issues, but also identify new ones emerging as quickly as the field is evolving. For instance, where military robots had received much attention in the past (and are still controversial today), welook toward autonomous cars here as an important case study that cuts across diverse issues, from liability to psychology to trust and more. And because robotics feeds into and is fed by AI, Internet of Things, and other cognate fields, robot ethics must also reach into those domains, too.Expanding these discussions also means listening to new voices; robot ethics is no longer the concern of a handful of scholars. Experts from different academic disciplines and geographical areas are now playing vital roles in shaping ethical, legal, and policy discussions worldwide. So, for a morecomplete study, we look beyond the usual suspects for the latest thinking. Many of these views are provocative - but also what we need to push forward in unfamiliar territory.
Call Number: TJ211.49 R6222 2017 (Brashier)
Robot Programming by Cameron Hughes; Tracey HughesRobot Programming: A Guide to Controlling Autonomous Robots takes the reader on an adventure through the eyes of Midamba, a lad who has been stranded on a desert island and must find a way to program robots to help him escape. In this guide, you are presented with practical approaches and techniques to program robot sensors, motors, and translate your ideas into tasks a robot can execute autonomously. These techniques can be used on today's leading robot microcontrollers (ARM9 and ARM7) and robot platforms (including the wildly popular low-cost Arduino platforms, LEGO® Mindstorms EV3, NXT, and Wowee RS Media Robot) for your hardware/Maker/DIY projects. Along the way the reader will learn how to: Program robot sensors and motors Program a robot arm to perform a task Describe the robot's tasks and environments in a way that a robot can process using robot S.T.O.R.I.E.S. Develop a R.S.V.P. (Robot Scenario Visual Planning) used for designing the robot's tasks in an environment Program a robot to deal with the "unexpected" using robot S.P.A.C.E.S. Program robots safely using S.A.R.A.A. (Safe Autonomous Robot Application Architecture) Approach Program robots using Arduino C/C++ and Java languages Use robot programming techniques with LEGO® Mindstorms EV3, Arduino, and other ARM7 and ARM9-based robots.
Call Number: TJ 211.45 .H844 2016 (Brashier)
Ugly's Electrical References 2014 by Jones and Bartlett Learning StaffAn on-the-job reference, used worldwide by electricians, engineers, contractors, designers, maintenance workers, instructors, and the military. Contains the most commonly required electrical information in an easy-to-read and easy-to-access format. Presents a succinct presentation the key information all electricians need at their fingertips, including: mathematical formulas, National Electrical Code tables, wiring configurations, conduit bending, voltage drops, and life-saving first aid procedures.
Call Number: Brashier TK151 .U35 2015
Mechatronics by Clarence W. de Silva (Editor); Farbod Khoshnoud (Editor); Li Maoqing (Editor); Saman K. Halgamuge (Editor)An Up-To-Date Reference on the Latest Developments of Mechatronics Geared toward engineers, designers, researchers, educators, and students, Mechatronics: Fundamentals and Applications focuses on integrating practice with theory relevant to electromechanical and multidomain systems. A result of the Distinguished Visiting Fellowship of the Royal Academy of Engineering, UK, held by Clarence W. de Silva, the book contains 15 chapters written by individual contributors, many of whom were speakers at the workshop. What Are Mechatronic Systems? Divided into two sections, this book covers the fundamentals and applications of mechatronic devices and systems and emphasizes specific topics that include: modeling and analytical formulations, simulation methods, design approaches, control techniques, practical tools, and cutting-edge systems and applications. The book highlights methodologies that encompass modeling, analysis, design, control, monitoring, diagnosis of mechatronic systems, and mechatronic systems and technologies. In addition, it illustrates topics by using numerous examples and various case studies from real implementations and incorporates analytical methods, practical considerations, design issues, and experimental techniques throughout the book. The text also covers some state-of-the-art technologies such as Bio-MEMS, self-powered systems and biologically inspired systems. A broad introduction to the subject of mechatronic engineering, this book: Presents the concepts of mechatronic design quotient (MDQ) and design evolution through modeling, health monitoring, design expert system, and evolutionary optimization Outlines the evolution of the discipline of mechatronics from its early days leading up to the present Includes the fundamental theory of mechanics of materials, which can be employed for application in mechatronics Explores how signals can be measured to avoid common pitfalls in signal acquisition and processing Introduces and demonstrates reinforcement learning or Q learning in physical robotic tasks, and more Mechatronics: Fundamentals and Applications presents the relevance of modeling, design, and instrumentation in the development of a mechatronic system or product and serves as a reference tool and informational resource for engineers in industry, as well as researchers and students in the field of mechatronics.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2015
Prototyping for Designers by Kathryn McElroyPrototyping and user testing is the best way to create successful products, but many designers skip this important step and use gut instinct instead. By explaining the goals and methodologies behind prototyping--and demonstrating how to prototype for both physical and digital products--this practical guide helps beginning and intermediate designers become more comfortable with creating and testing prototypes early and often in the process. Author Kathryn McElroy explains various prototyping methods, from fast and dirty to high fidelity and refined, and reveals ways to test your prototypes with users. You'll gain valuable insights for improving your product, whether it's a smartphone app or a new electronic gadget. Learn similarities and differences between prototyping for physical and digital products Know what fidelity level is needed for different prototypes Get best practices for prototyping in a variety of mediums, and choose which prototyping software or components to use Learn electronics prototyping basics and resources for getting started Write basic pseudocode and translate it into usable code for Arduino Conduct user tests to gain insights from prototypes
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2017
Dynamics of Mechatronic Systems by J. Awrejcewicz; Donat Lewandowski; Pawel OlejnikThis book describes the interplay of mechanics, electronics, electrotechnics, automation and biomechanics. It provides a broad overview of mechatronics systems ranging from modeling and dimensional analysis, and an overview of magnetic, electromagnetic and piezo-electric phenomena. It also includes the investigation of the pneumo-fluid-mechanical, as well as electrohydraulic servo systems, modeling of dynamics of an atom/particle embedded in the magnetic field, integrity aspects of the Maxwell's equations, the selected optimization problems of angular velocity control of a DC motor subjected to chaotic disturbances with and without stick-slip dynamics, and the analysis of a human chest adjacent to the elastic backrest aimed at controlling force to minimize relative compression of the chest employing the LQR.This book provides a theoretical background on the analysis of various kinds of mechatronics systems, along with their computational analysis, control, optimization as well as laboratory investigations.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016
Engineering Creative Design in Robotics and Mechatronics by Habib; J. Paulo Davim (Editor)While technologies continue to advance in different directions, there still holds a constant evolution of interdisciplinary development. Robotics and mechatronics is a successful fusion of disciplines into a unified framework that enhances the design of products and manufacturing processes. Engineering Creative Design in Robotics and Mechatronics captures the latest research developments in the subject field of robotics and mechatronics and provides relevant theoretical knowledge in this field. Providing interdisciplinary development approaches, this reference source prepares students, scientists, and professional engineers with the latest research development to enhance their skills of innovative design capabilities.