African American History

This set of images features African-American women educators, activists, artists, and more.

Showcases the incomparable African American collections of the Library of Congress.

A panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture, spanning almost one hundred years from the early 19th through the early 20th Centuries, with the bulk of the material published between 1875 and 1900.

Stepping onto Ebbets field on April 15, 1947, Robinson became the first African American in the 20th Century to play baseball in the major leagues, breaking the "color line", a segregation practice dating to the 19th Century.

A selection of 100 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.

A collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from 1820s to the Civil War.

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

An unprecedented collaboration bringing together the power of investigative reporting, narrative writing, documentary filmmaking and interactive multimedia production to reveal the long-neglected truth behind unsolved civil rights murders.

Promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

Offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color.

The petitions have been manually transcribed by project staff.

The papers of the nineteenth-century African-American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his own freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.

One of the most significant and little studied newspapers documenting early anti-slavery and other reform movements.

Provides an institutional home for a broad range of activities illuminating the Nobel Peace laureate’s life and the movements he inspired.

Presents a retrospective of the major personalities, events, and achievements that shaped the NAACP’s history during its first 100 years.

This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

In the nineteenth-century, Rochester, New York, was a boiling cauldron of civic activism. No other family epitomized this “commotion” of activity as much as the members of the Post family.

Access to all known legal materials on slavery in the U.S and materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Contains more than 1,000 titles and nearly 850,000 pages.

Interactive maps, population database search engine, and digitized original documents, for examining the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the U.S. and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850.

Contains information on almost 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Brings together the most extensive digital collection dedicated to African American history and culture from US archives, museums, and cultural heritage institutions.

A map of slavery’s end during the American Civil War. It finds patterns in the collapse of southern slavery, mapping the interactions between federal policies, armies in the field, and the actions of enslaved men and women.