It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VET 132 - Feline Anatomy and Terminology: Library Resources
Formerly the Handbook of Behavior Problems of the Dog and Cat, the new edition of the definitive guide to the diagnosis and treatment of behavior problems of the dog and cat has been extensively updated. It retains the highly practical approach that has proved so successful in previous editions, offering diagnostic guidelines, preventative advice, treatment guidelines and charts, case examples, client forms and handouts, and product and resource suggestions along with details on the use of drugs and natural supplements to help optimize the behavior services offered in practice. To add to these features, the third edition is now fully referenced, there is significant new content, the book has been written with the entire hospital team in mind, and many color images have been added. The new edition welcomes a wide international mix of new contributors from Australia, Spain, Mexico and the United States. A website link gives access to the handouts and forms previously found on disk. As well as fulfilling its original purpose as a practical tool for the busy clinician, this edition offers valuable and useful support material for all those studying the field of companion animal behavior.
Animal Behavior for Shelter Veterinarians and Staff presents and evaluates the available research and programs that address both animal and human behaviors associated with the intake, management and rehoming of dog and cats. Introductions to dog and cat behavior relevant to any animal professional. Reviews behavioral reasons for the relinquishment of dogs and cats. Describes intake and assessment protocol, shelter design, training and enrichment programs that reduce stress and enhance behavioral well-being, and includes concepts to improve the adoption process and support the human-animal bond post-adoption.
This full-color dissection guide is intended for students taking mammalian anatomy, comparative anatomy, general biology, or anatomy and physiology courses. The text incorporates high-quality photographs and clear discussions of dissection techniques to introduce students to the morphology of a mammal whose anatomy parallels that of the human.
*description from publisher
Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides the veterinary technician with a solid foundation in behavioral medicine. Designed as a daily resource for interacting with and educating pet owners, the book familiarizes readers with the behavioral, mental, and emotional needs of dogs and cats. Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses offers a complete guide to the technician's role in behavioral preventive services and how to assist the veterinarian with behavioral intervention. Covering the roles of animal behavior professionals, normal development of dogs and cats, and the human-animal bond, the book includes correlations from human mental health care throughout. The book encompasses learning theory, preventive behavioral services, standardized behavior modification terms and techniques, and veterinary behavior pharmacology. Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential resource for veterinary technicians to realize their full potential and become a pivotal component of the behavioral health care team for canine and feline patients.
**Available as an ebook**
This new edition uniquely integrates text discussions with learning activities, including fill-in-the-blank, puzzle, and matching exercises. Newly updated to reflect the latest terminology, this best-selling text now features numerous new and revised pedagogical features that make it an excellent resource both in the classroom and for self-study. Brand-new additions include several new appendices, new anatomical drawings, and a more extensive index. Many sections have been completely rewritten for consistency and greater reader comprehension, and review sections now include more thought-provoking questions and multiple-choice tests. Logical organization and an extensive illustration program make it an excellent resource both in the classroom and in clinical practice
The most commonly kept domestic animal in the developed world, the cat has been a part of human life for thousands of years. Cats have been both worshipped and persecuted over this long period - either loved or hated for their enigmatic self-reliance and the subject of numerous myths and fables. Highlighting startling discoveries made over the last ten years, this new edition features contributions from experts in a wide range of fields, providing authoritative accounts of the behaviour of cats and how they interact with people. Thoroughly revised and updated to include information on the basic features of cat development and social life, the history of their relations with humans, health and welfare problems, and the breeding of cats for sale and for show. It is intended for all those, whether specialist or general reader, who love or are simply intrigued by these fascinating animals.
Cats are the world's most popular domestic pet, as well as being wild animals. This comprehensive book on feline behaviour explores both the familiar domesticated animal and wild relatives such as the leopard, tiger and lynx to examine the Felidae family as a whole, allowing for fascinating comparisons between wild and domestic species and explanations of behaviour in pet cats with evolutionary origins. Fraser's work helps increase readers' understanding of cat behaviour - why they behave as they do, for what purpose and why. The focus is on identifying normal behaviour from the cat's perspective, with a welfare theme running throughout; as exhibitions of normal behaviour provide evidence of good welfare, and abnormal behaviour can be an indicator of poor welfare. Providing a veterinary perspective - by including coverage of feline physiology, life stages and reproduction - as well as an ethological one, this is an important read for veterinarians, shelter workers, animal behaviourists and students of veterinary medicine and animal welfare, while also being of interest to pet owners.
Nephrology and Urology of Small Animals provides veterinarians with the knowledge needed to effectively diagnose and treat urologic diseases in canine, feline, and exotic patients. Serving as an easy-to-use, comprehensive clinical reference, the text takes an evidence-based approach to detailed coverage of specific diseases and disorders, including etiology and prevalence, clinical signs, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, prognosis, controversies, and references. Coverage also includes practical review of anatomy and physiology of the urinary system, fundamentals of diagnostic testing and therapeutic techniques.
This book presents topical research in the study of the biology, behaviour and health disorders of cats. Topics discussed include the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of parasitic infections in cats; development of the cat sympathetic ganglia in postnatal ontogenesis; feline perioperative analgesia; streptococcal disease as an emerging pathogen of cats; feline endometrial adnenocarcinoma; and non-spatial visual recognition memory in cats.
Small Animal Internal Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is the first comprehensive resource on internal medicine written for the veterinary technician. Organized by body system, each chapter discusses pertinent diseases, from clinical signs, diagnostic testing, and prevalence to treatment options and nursing considerations. Published in association with the Academy of Internal Medicine for Veterinary Technicians, this book offers both a thorough grounding in the foundations of internal medicine for students and new veterinary technicians and detailed, advanced information suitable for experienced veterinary technicians. Coverage includes an overview of neurological disorders and discussion of the surgical, emergency, and nursing considerations for each condition. This complete reference, which includes a companion website with quizzes, images, and video clips, is essential reading for veterinary technician students, practicing technicians, and those studying for the AIMVT specialty exam.
Catster is the longest-running print publication for cat lovers, known for its helpful and hilarious love, care, humor and knowledge of all things feline. Catster magazine and its website is a resource for real cat owners who passionately argue the merits of catnip at dinner, have very real opinions on vet costs, and are willing to devote their time and financial resources to please the creatures that really run their households.