Research Guides: Physical Therapist Assistant: Books &amp; Video

Research is a process; be prepared to tweak your topic as you find relevant sources.

The Research Process

Tips on getting more from your research efforts:

VIDEO - 5 Tips for Critical Thinking. From diets to debates: ideas to keep in mind as you make decisions.
VIDEO - What's a Library database? Explains library databases from a student's perspective.
VIDEO - From Idea to Library: How Journal Articles and Databases Work. Library databases use a different algorithm.
VIDEO - Picking Your Topic IS Research: How the Process Works. Research is a circular process.
VIDEO - How to Narrow Your Topic. Tips for focusing your research topic.
VIDEO - One Perfect Source? Why You Need Different Sources. You need background and detail for your research.
VIDEO - Research and Literacy Skills
VIDEO - Searching for Images

mind map Organize with note cards, color-coding, or concept maps.

Concept Map 1
Printable visual concept map
Research Paper Organizer
Printable, more detailed form to help you organize your resources and your writing
Concept Map 2
Printable visual concept map

Searching the Library's Collection

A few titles from the Library's collection.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of streaming videos covering many topics. View videos in their entirety or in shorter segments.
ICE Learning Center This link opens in a new window
Videos for students and faculty in OTA and PTA programs.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 ebooks covering all academic disciplines. The link takes you to a page with login instructions.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 69,000 e-books on popular and academic subjects.
Ovid E-books This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books in the Allied Health, Nursing, and Physical Therapy areas.