Research Guides: GTC Student Parent Resources: Electronic Resources for Children and Teens

Children's Databases

Animal Kingdom (Britannica) This link opens in a new window
Kid-friendly interface allows exploration of animals by type, habitat, and more. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Britannica Elementary This link opens in a new window
Kid-friendly interface for browsing and searching of encyclopedia. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Covers customs, cultures, governments, economies, food, and histories of all UN-recognized countries.
Gale in Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Kid-friendly interface with categories such as animals, geography, and sports. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Interactive activities, games, and videos to help K-12 students and parents in many subjects. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library. Please contact the library for the username and password if needed.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from popular middle school magazines along with biographies, historical essays, and images. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
NovelList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
A guide to fiction and nonfiction books with categories for 0-8, 9-12, and Teen. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Tumble Book Library This link opens in a new window
Online books for kids: Audio picture books, read-alongs, and ebooks for ages 2-12. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
If you are off campus, you will need to use your library card number to log in.
PebbleGo Animals This link opens in a new window
Engaging read-aloud audio and videos with articles appropriate for young learners. Available in English and Spanish. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library. If you are using off-campus, please contact the Library for a username and password.
PebbleGo Next Biographies This link opens in a new window
Biographies and related activities for students in grades K-5. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library. If you are using off-campus, please contact the Library for a username and password.

StudySC
Gives information on South Carolina history, culture, and geography.

Video: How to access database content and ebooks while off-campus

High School Student Databases

Britannica High School This link opens in a new window
Age-targeted reference information from Encyclopaedia Britannica. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Learning Express 3.0 This link opens in a new window
Updated collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources.
MAS Ultra-School Edition This link opens in a new window
Content on many topics for high school students. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Teen BookCloud This link opens in a new window
Includes graphic novels, enhanced novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audio books. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.

Resources from the Library of Congress

Minerva’s Kaleidoscope
Provides parents and caregivers of children and teens with kid-friendly activities and resources.
Books & Related Info for Kids
The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress invites people of all ages to discover the fascinating people, places and events that await you whenever you read.