Research Guides: GTC Student Parent Resources: Library Resources

Searching the Library's Collection

Getting Started

Research is a process; be prepared to tweak your topic as you find relevant sources.

The Research Process

Tips on getting more from your research efforts:

VIDEO - 5 Tips for Critical Thinking. From diets to debates: ideas to keep in mind as you make decisions.
VIDEO - What's a Library database? Explains library databases from a student's perspective.
VIDEO - From Idea to Library: How Journal Articles and Databases Work. Library databases use a different algorithm.
VIDEO - Picking Your Topic IS Research: How the Process Works. Research is a circular process.
VIDEO - How to Narrow Your Topic. Tips for focusing your research topic.
VIDEO - One Perfect Source? Why You Need Different Sources. You need background and detail for your research.
VIDEO - Research and Literacy Skills
VIDEO - Searching for Images

mind map Organize with note cards, color-coding, or concept maps.

Concept Map 1
Printable visual concept map
Research Paper Organizer
Printable, more detailed form to help you organize your resources and your writing
Concept Map 2
Printable visual concept map

If you are looking for reading material for your children, then feel free to browse the children's book collection. Most of the children's collection is available at the Barton Campus Library. GTC students can check out these books for a four week loan period. Our collection includes picture books, chapter books, and graphic novels.

ebooks

Tumble Book Library This link opens in a new window
Online books for kids. Features audio picture books, read-alongs, and ebooks for ages 2-12.
If you are off campus, you will need to use your library card number to log in.
Teen BookCloud This link opens in a new window
Includes graphic novels, enhanced novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audio books. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.