It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Animal Science: Library Resources
animal science, vet technician, professional grooming, careers with animals, cats, dogs
EXPLORING ANIMAL SCIENCE offers readers the perfect tool for learning about animal agriculture: one that balances the academic background critical to building a strong foundation in fundamental science with the practical, production-oriented content vital to work in the real world. Its coverage spans a variety of areas like nutrition, anatomy and physiology, biotechnology, biosecurity, and genetics and animal reproduction. Each topic is presented in a straightforward manner that first investigates the basics, and then delves further into its practical application to the production, care, and management of animal agriculture. This unique approach is sure to engage readers by drawing powerful connections between academics and real-life animal-based scenarios and situations. It also includes a wide range of activities that will take learning to the next level, making it an appealing choice for anyone seeking a strong, foundational knowledge of animal science.
Providing the ultimate terminology reference for veterinary assistants and technicians, AN ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO VETERINARY MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY, 4e provides an engaging, systematic approach to learning medical terms and understanding basic principles of veterinary medicine. This user-friendly textbook delivers a unique pedagogical presentation that makes it a comprehensive learning resource. Focusing on how medical terms are formed, analyzed, and defined, the text discusses anatomical landmarks, the positioning of animals, and the relationships between body parts. It also introduces terms used in the animal industry. Case studies illustrate how medical terminology is experienced in real-world practice, and an audio wordlist enables readers to hear the terms they are learning.
This issue will stress the increasing importance of effective communication between veterinarians and their colleagues and clients. Topics will include communicating within the veterinary healthcare team, client-doctor communication, dealing with client conflict, discussing money with clients, end-of life issues, communication in the emergency setting, compassion fatigue, client compliance, ethical dilemmas, and more.
Veterinary Technician's Handbook of Laboratory Procedures is a quick-reference guide to conducting common laboratory tests. Carefully designed for fast access, the book covers common laboratory equipment, quality control, blood analysis, urinalysis, parasitology, and cytology. Important information is clearly and succinctly outlined for frequently used lab tests, providing step-by-step procedures, discussions of common errors, and tips and tricks, with more than 200 color images to aid in identification. A companion website offers case studies, crossword puzzles, figures from the book in PowerPoint, and additional figures not found in the printed book at www.wiley.com/go/bellwoodhandbook. Veterinary Technician's Handbook of Laboratory Procedures is an invaluable tool for finding essential information on performing a wide range of laboratory tests.
**also available in ebook format
This volume of the Albrecht Papers presents the logical connections among soil health, animal health and human health. There is a need for a restored respect among both farmers and scientists for the importance of soil health. From this respect, a commitment to restoring the natural fertility and productivity of the soil must arise as a means of restoring health to humanity.
Meet Lorrie, the Barefoot Veterinarian, who plied her trade in the wilds of Southern California for over 30 years, caring for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, monkeys, goats, seals, wallabies, ferrets, ... the list goes on and on. Not your typical small animal urban veterinarian This book is a collection of the many memorable experiences in Lorrie Boldricks life as a veterinarian, beginning in veterinary school and ending with her first retirement. Some of the stories will make you smile, many will make you laugh, others will make you sad and a few may even make you cry. Hopefully, theyll all make it clear what an extraordinarily rewarding and often entertaining career she had caring for animals - and often their owners
Veterinary Medicine and Science is an international open access journal which publishes original, high-quality, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of Veterinary Medicine and Science relating to companion, production and zoo animals.
The role of cognitive memory in "becoming" of the complexly organised systems is briefly considered from the viewpoint of the general systems theory; the role of Georgian neurophysiologists in emphasising cognitive aspects of memory role in animal behaviour is underlined. The existence of the "one-trial" non-spatial visual recognition memory in cats, as representatives of carnivores with poorly developed vision, is established; it is shown that analogously to primates and rodents in cats the so called rhinal cortex plays a major role in mediating this type of visual cognitive memory. It is shown that in cats, similarly to primates and rodents, parahippocampal cortex (with possible inclusion in this system of the subicular complex) is responsible for visuospatial memory. This book examines the aspects of cognitive visual memory in cats.
Animal feeds and forages contain a wide range toxins arising from anthropogenic and natural sources. This book examines the distribution of plant toxins, in cereals, complete feeds and forages. The impacts on farm livestock productivity and on the safety of resulting edible products is also discussed. Evidence is provided to demonstrate that feeds contain a variety of substances and that there are regional differences in the nature of the compounds involved. (Imprint: Nova Press)"
The classical veterinary education revolves around the anatomy, physiology, diseases and their treatment of the bovine, avian, equine, swine species and the assorted small animals. This book discusses the reasoning of both the veterinary profession in its medical care, innovation and scientific logic and also the tools and laws of the business world which cannot be ignored, if a veterinary practice shall survive. It is the reasonable synthesis of both, which eventually leads to profound business success and a medical reputation of excellence.
Nowadays, habitat loss is one of the main threats to terrestrial vertebrates' survival. Due to the decreasing of continuous natural areas, and consequent habitat loss, how animals use these remaining patches is becoming a central question for the conservation of these species. The loss of the original land covers can promote a change in the composition, diversity, and behaviour of the native fauna, as well as constrain the community structures. The outcome of these processes… is a landscape where patches of autochthonous/native vegetation are immersed in a matrix of human shaped landscapes. Although some carnivores are sensitive to fragmentation, some species can benefit with the expansion of agriculture. This book discusses the importance and role of those agricultural matrix for species conservation.
In this book the authors discuss the domestication history, behaviour and common health problems of dogs. Topics include the epidemiological trends and neuropathological manifestations of canine distemper virus; behaviour and welfare of dogs; marketing and the domestication of dogs; responsible ownership and behaviours; advances in the canine coproparasitological examination; and an examination of ovariohysterectomy (spaying) and healthy longevity in dogs.
In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the physiology, diseases and farming practices of chickens. Topics discussed include recent trends in the diagnosis and vaccines for poultry diseases; nutrient regulation of intestinal development and function in chickens; the role of selenium in chicken physiology; harvest and post-harvest practices for chickens; organ blood flow in the hen foetal and early postnatal periods; central regulation of physiological and metabolic responses in neonatal chicks; bacteriophages in the control of colibacillosis; and chicken egg size and embryonic development.