Research Guides: Paralegal Resources: Research Resources

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Full-text analysis from hundreds of law reviews, journals, encyclopedias, treatises, legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains mostly peer-reviewed articles that cover many academic disciplines.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles covering a wide variety of topics.

Black's Law Dictionary, 8th and 9th Editions
GTC Library; KF156.B53 2009
Black's Law Dictionary Online
Free legal dictionary 2nd Ed. only.
VIDEO: Paralegal—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight
In this Career Q&A video interview, Steve Bachman talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success as a paralegal.

Federal Law

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations)
Search Code of Federal Regulations through Cornell University Law School.
Federal Law Collection
Collection of U.S. Federal legal materials through Cornell University Law School.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, as amended to December 1, 2015 through Cornell University Law School. Click on any rule to read it.
Federal Rules of Evidence
Federal Rules of Evidence, as amended to December 1, 2015 through Cornell University Law School. Click on any rule to read it.
U.S. Code
Search U.S. Code through Cornell University Law School.
U.S. Constitution
Search the Constitution of the United States of America through Cornell University School of Law.
U. S. Constitution Transcript
Transcripts of the U. S. Constitution, Bill of Rights, and Declaration of Independence from the National Archives.
UCC (Uniform Commercial Code)
Search each section of the U.C.C. in the version which is most widely adopted by states through Cornell University Law School.

State Law

South Carolina Code of Laws
Search, read, or print South Carolina law here. The South Carolina Legislative Council is offering access to the unannotated South Carolina Code of Laws on the Internet as a service to the public.
South Carolina Code of Regulations
Search, read, or print the South Carolina regulations governing everything from agriculture to tourism here.
South Carolina Constitution
Search, read, or print the South Carolina Constitution (or sections of it) here. There's a link to the U. S. Constitution at the bottom of the page.
South Carolina Legislature
Keep up with proposed legislation and changes in state law here.
South Carolina Rules of Court
Includes rules for Appellate, Civil, Criminal, Family, Probate, Magistrate, ADR, Evidence, and E-Filing.

In the Law Library

In the Law Library, you will find the following:

American Jurisprudence
South Carolina Code of Laws
South Carolina Jurisprudence
Southeastern Reporter
Southeastern Reporter 2d Series

In the Summer, the Paralegal Law Library is open for use Monday - Thursday until 6pm. During the Fall and Spring semesters, it is open Monday - Thursday until 9pm. Students in some Paralegal classes use the Library as part of their classroom time, so there will be periods within the Library's open hours that it is unavailable for use.

If you would like to use the Library and you are not enrolled in GTC's Paralegal Program, please contact Vickie Maxwell at 864-250-8162, or at Vickie.Maxwell@gvltec.edu.

Did you know that these titles are also available in the downtown Hughes Library of the Greenville County Library System? For location, hours, and parking information, please see the library's website:

Greenville County Library - Hughes Library Information

Help with Westlaw

Westlaw help resources include the following:

Westlaw Training Videos: Short videos on researching, verifying citations, and more. Note that some features might not be available in GTC"s Westlaw subscription.
Westlaw Campus Research Help Guide: Downloadable and printable guide to using Westlaw. (Click link below.)

Introduction to Legal Research on Westlaw
Printable guide (40 pages) covering searching and using cases, statutes, news, and business documents.