Research Guides: Literature Databases: Home

DATABASE HELP

LITERATURE

Bloom's Literary Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Examines writers, works, characters, movements and events in world literature. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Includes plot summaries, author information, and award lists.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
500 films of classical, contemporary, and international productions, along with study guides and research materials.
Drama for Students This link opens in a new window
Critical overviews of the most-studied plays.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Resources include Folk Tales and Fairy Tales, Ethnic American Literature, Books to Film: Cinematic Adaptations of Literary Works, Twayne's Author Series and Scribner Writers Online, among others.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Formerly Artemis Literary Sources.
Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new window
Critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived.
Gale Literature Criticism (Short Stories and Poetry) This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism for major U.S. and World authors and poets. Includes criticism for short stories and poetry only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in the humanities and social sciences.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information on thousands of authors and their works. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, biographical information, journal articles, reviews and more. Provided by PASCAL.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Online access to MLA Handbook, 9th edition.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
Reader's resource with information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Novels for Students This link opens in a new window
Critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Provides definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, synonyms, and much more.
Poetry for Students This link opens in a new window
Poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction. Provided in part by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Access to Critical Survey of Graphic Novels series: Independents and Underground Classics, Heroes & Superheroes, History, Theme & Technique, and Manga. Other titles: World Mythology, Censored & Banned Literature, and Novels Into Film: Adaptations & Interpretations.
Short Stories for Students This link opens in a new window
Critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
Resources about children's and young adult books for readers and educators. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.
Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A guide to the writing process, covering preparation; writing your document; revising; and writing about theme, character, form and genre, and other topics. Provided by DISCUS, South Carolina's Virtual Library.