Skip to main content
Research Help Appointments
For Faculty & Staff
Indie Author Project
Locations & Hours
Barton (Main Library)
Search this Guide
Local & Library Resources
An internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th Century.
The Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art
The Freer Gallery of Art, and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery.
The Victoria and Albert Museum
The world’s greatest museum of art and design.
Museum of Fine Arts
Today the MFA is one of the most comprehensive art museums in the world; the collection encompasses nearly 450,000 works of art.
The J. Paul Getty Museum
European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and European and American photographs.
Discover Islamic Art - Virtual Museum
14 countries from around the Mediterranean and the European Union have agreed to collaborate on producing a virtual museum on the Internet that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region.
The Christian Catacombs of Rome
The catacombs of St.Callixtus are among the greatest and most important of Rome.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Peruse the collection database, recent acquisitions, and affiliated institutions.
The History of Architecture Website
Designed to support undergraduate education, from introductory art and architectural history surveys to advanced courses.
A collaboration with the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, to provide a World Wide Web resource for Egyptological information.
An overview of Greek and Roman mythology, including a timeline of Greek history and literature.
The British Museum Images
The authoritative source of images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings.
National Gallery of Art
Videos and podcasts, collection tours, and in-depth study tours of artists, works of art, or themes.
ArchNet: Islamic Architecture Community
An international online community for architects and scholars; browse their online library for images and research materials.
The Art Institute of Chicago
Search online collections and research materials, videos and podcasts, or download the Impressionism app.
The Museum of Modern Art; see exhibitions, films, multimedia resources, and free apps!
Collection, activities, and video highlights of certain pieces.
Global Egyptian Museum
This website aims to collect over 2 million objects from ancient Egypt into a global virtual museum, which can be visited at any time, from any place. Images, glossary, audio comments and 3D.
A family of four art museums housing British art from 1500 as well as international modern art.
Award-winning encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion
Leading open educational resources for art history, presented by Khan Academy.
Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Getty Institute Vocabulary Database
Contains structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials.
A History of the World in 100 Objects
A collaboration between BBC and the British Museum of Art that is a collection of podcasts discussing 100 works of art from the British Museum.
Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Thousands of images from the British Library's collections.
Take a virtual tour!
Lascaux - A Visit to the Cave
Video, and interactive views of the paintings.
NOVA Online - Explore the Pyramids
Interactives and information about the pyramids.
Who Built Stonehenge?
Provided by The History Channel, also shows related videos.
Built as a temple for Athena, the Parthenon is considered one of the greatest examples of Greek architecture still standing today.
Jul 10, 2020 12:36 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Accessibility at GTC