It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gail Damerow shows you how to choose the right breeds for your needs, build efficient chicken coops, provide necessary medical attention for your animals, and much more. Whether you're raising broilers for meat or preparing your chickens to win a blue ribbon at the next county fair, Storey's Guide to Raising Chickens will help you achieve your poultry-raising goals.
Developed for the particular needs of the working farm, heritage breeds have proved invaluable to small-scale agricultural production for centuries. This comprehensive guide explains why conserving heritage breeds remains important and how they often can be a better choice for the modern farmer than conventional animals. With profiles of heritage poultry, sheep, cattle, and more, you'll learn how to select and successfully raise the breed that is right for your specific needs. Enjoy the benefits of resilient livestock while preserving genetic diversity for future generations.
This book was written with the intent of providing anyone who has ever wanted to start their own small scale farm the necessary resources and information needed to start raising small animals and cattle. You will learn everything you need to know to raise a wide variety of small animals. You will learn how to care for chickens: from choosing the right breed to raising them for egg production. You will learn how to handle geese and ducks: choosing the correct breeds, feeding, housing, breeding, and selecting the right ones for egg production. You will also learn about egg incubation, maintaining poultry health, and how raise them for meat. Other animals you will learn how to care for include rabbits, goats, sheep, dairy cows, and beef cattle. Small farmers and animal experts have been interviewed in detail and their responses added to this book to provide additional insight into every aspect of raising farm animals. This includes details about how to purchase, house, feed, breed, record, and butcher animals of all types as well as how to gather milk, use goats and cows for maintaining your fields, and even keeping records of births and selling babies. Everything you might need to know about raising small animals for your farm is included in this guide to provide you the first steps to raising domesticated poultry and livestock.
**Also available as an ebook.
Learn how to successfully raise your own pigs. Stressing the importance of sustainable and environmentally friendly farming practices, Kelly Klober provides expert tips on making your hog operation more efficient and profitable. Storey's Guide to Raising Pigs will give beginners the confidence they need to succeed, while inspiring experienced farmers to try new techniques and experiment with new breeds.
Whether you're interested in raising rabbits for show, meat, fur, or as pets, this comprehensive guide covers everything you need to know to keep your animals healthy and productive. Offering expert advice on breed selection, housing, feeding, humane handling, routine medical care, and dealing with diseases, Bob Bennett also provides tips on how to make raising rabbits a financial lucrative endeavor. Storey's Guide to Raising Rabbits will help both the commercial producer and the backyard fancier achieve their rabbit-raising goals.
In recent years beekeepers have had to face tremendous challenges, from pests such as varroa and tracheal mites and from the mysterious but even more devastating phenomenon known as Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD). Yet in backyards and on rooftops all over the world, bees are being raised successfully, even without antibiotics, miticides, or other chemical inputs.More and more organically minded beekeepers are now using top-bar hives, in which the shape of the interior resembles a hollow log. Long lasting and completely biodegradable, a topbar hive made of untreated wood allows bees to build comb naturally rather than simply filling prefabricated foundation frames in a typical box hive with added supers. Top-bar hives yield slightly less honey but produce more beeswax than a typical Langstroth box hive. Regular hive inspection and the removal of old combs helps to keep bees healthier and naturally disease-free. Top-Bar Beekeeping provides complete information on hive management and other aspects of using these innovative hives. All home and hobbyist beekeepers who have the time and interest in keeping bees intensively should consider the natural, low-stress methods outlined in this book. It will also appeal to home orchardists, gardeners, and permaculture practitioners who look to bees for pollination as well as honey or beeswax.
Incorporating dairy goats into a diversified homestead can be the key to greater self-sufficiency. Responding to questions and concerns from readers from all over North America and beyond, this fully revised and expanded edition of Raising Goats Naturally will help readers work with nature to raise dairy goats to produce milk, cheese, meat, fertilizer, leather, fiber, and soap - all without relying on drugs or following the factory farm model. By observing your own animals closely and educating yourself about their specific needs, you can create an individualized plan for keeping them healthy and maximizing their productivity. This unique, fully-illustrated guide will teach you to help your herd thrive with breed-specific descriptions to help you choose the right goats for your goals and lifestyle, detailed information on housing, fencing, breeding, health, milking, and nutrition, complete recipes and instructions for making your own cheese, dairy products, and soap, as well as cooking with goat meat. Packed with personal experiences and backed up by expert veterinary advice and scientific studies, Raising Goats Naturally brings together a wealth of practical information on raising goats for the love of it and using their milk and meat to become more self-reliant.
Beekeeping outside the box - getting beyond the basics with top bar hives. Bee populations are plummeting worldwide. Colony Collapse Disorder poses a serious threat to many plants which rely on bees for pollination, including a significant proportion of our food crops. Top bar hives are based on the concept of understanding and working with bees' natural systems, enabling top bar beekeepers to produce honey and natural wax while helping bees thrive now and in the years ahead. Advanced Top Bar Beekeeping picks up where The Thinking Beekeeper left off, providing a wealth of information for backyard beekeepers ready to take the next step with this economical, bee-friendly approach. Author Christy Hemenway shares: Guidance and techniques for the second season and beyond, an in-depth analysis of the dangers climate change and conventional agriculture present to pollinators, an inspiring vision of restoring bee populations through organic farming and natural, chemical-free beekeeping. While continuing to emphasize the intimate connection between our food system, bees, and the wellbeing of the planet, Advanced Top Bar Beekeeping breaks new ground in the quest to shift the dominant agricultural paradigm away from chemical-laden, industrial beekeeping monoculture and towards healthy, diverse local farming.
Because of the rise of the urban farming movement, people in cities are seeing the potential for business opportunity and fun in raising their own chickens for their eggs. This highly informational guide provides all of the tips and tricks needed to choose a suitable chicken breed, acquire your own chickens, raise them in a happy and healthy environment, and collect and sell their eggs for profit. This volume promotes environmentally friendly and organic business development for people of all ages.
How to raise rabbits for a steady source of meat and income. Rabbits are one of the most sustainable, nutritious, and economic meat sources available. They can easily be raised in a variety of locations and climates, and require less space and infrastructure than many other species of livestock. Raising Rabbits for Meat is the how-to guide to help you succeed in starting and running a home rabbitry for a steady source of meat or income. Coverage includes: The history of the domestic rabbit; information on breeding, housing, and harvesting; and tools to help you succeed with your program with an emphasis on heritage breeds. Raising Rabbits for Meat provides a solid foundation for success in raising rabbits and is ideal for anyone interested in starting a small rabbitry for home use, or to market rabbit meat as a business opportunity.