Research Guides: Health Information Management: Databases & Journal Articles

Getting Started

Research is a process; be prepared to tweak your topic as you find relevant sources.

The Research Process

Tips on getting more from your research efforts:

VIDEO - 5 Tips for Critical Thinking. From diets to debates: ideas to keep in mind as you make decisions.
VIDEO - What's a Library database? Explains library databases from a student's perspective.
VIDEO - From Idea to Library: How Journal Articles and Databases Work. Library databases use a different algorithm.
VIDEO - Picking Your Topic IS Research: How the Process Works. Research is a circular process.
VIDEO - How to Narrow Your Topic. Tips for focusing your research topic.
VIDEO - One Perfect Source? Why You Need Different Sources. You need background and detail for your research.
VIDEO - Research and Literacy Skills
VIDEO - Searching for Images

mind map Organize with note cards, color-coding, or concept maps.

Concept Map 1
Printable visual concept map
Research Paper Organizer
Printable, more detailed form to help you organize your resources and your writing
Concept Map 2
Printable visual concept map

Most of these databases provide instant access to full-text articles from academic journals.

Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Full text resource for health related research.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs, herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc.

Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text journals focusing on many nursing and medical disciplines.
Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to an electronic edition of this four-volume title.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Medical research, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine, clinical practice, administration and policy issues from more than 11 million records and information.
Mometrix eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Test preparation materials for career and professional certifications. Includes study materials for over 1,800 different exams covering 16 different subject areas including nursing, teaching, construction, social work, finance, med-tech, and law.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Vocational & Career Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Information in the following databases covers many subject areas and should be included in almost any search for information:

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains peer reviewed articles covering a vast range of academic disciplines.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides wide coverage of all fields and ranges from popular to scholarly content.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Collection of 8,000 streaming videos covering many topics.